That is what I think of when I see a scene like this.  Growing up too soon.

Sometimes kids just are thrust into life too soon.  The loss is too deep, the pain to hard, the harsh reality of life just too much.  A young son without a dad is never a good thing.  Nothing can take the place of a dad. 

I have a great dad.  Ray Mercer.  Just as good as gold.  He taught me how to be a dad.  Humble, smart, loving, good husband, good person, solid christian, fun to be with, great cook.  Never saw someone who he would not help.  That is my dad.  I am still far from all of this….but in progress.

I have a picture of him in my office.  People come in and look at it.  Those that have served in the military are immediately drawn to the Silver Star, the Bronze Star, the Combat Infantry Badge.   But we never knew about that.  These medals were found upstairs, in a sock  drawer by one of my siblings one day.  Dad got these in Germany.  He was…….. just a boy…. grew up too quick…. like many of those that made our country.

James 1:2 says to count it all joy when we fall into many trials (some versions say adversity)…..it brings maturity.   I never really thought about it this way.  The young boy in the photo above….he will mature…. my dad did in the trials/adversity in WWII in Germany.  I am proud of my dad.

louie

