James 1:4 says that “perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” 

I wonder if I am lacking anything because I sure have been through an awful lot…..I have had children chronically ill…..then, by the grace of God…they just pulled out of it……   After doctors telling me I will have to live with an immune deficient condition that….before they were even teenagers,…they had numerous surgeries (over a dozen each)  and over 20 hospitalizations each…..then all of a sudden…..  Healed.  Answer to unending prayer.  My wife and I just…..hung in there and prayed. We never stopped.

So, I thought I was through all this…..then my oldest daughter has a son with some seizure problems…….will have them all his life….according to the doctors….then…all of a sudden…..he has them no more…and the doctors are baffled…..now,…another grandson who has challenges, fibromytosis, extreme bundling of muscles in the neck, reflux so bad he can not keep anything down, bending of the back, neck and now hearing challenged…in only a few months of life……………..I see some maturity not lacking anything….some perserverence wanting to finish its work…yet again in my family. 

I used to fear this sort of thing.  I dreaded it.  Now, I realize that my God is so much bigger than 2 immunosupressed children that I spent every penny I had to keep them alive….. I now realize that my God is bigger than any seizures that can come against my first grandchild…..and after a few sleepless nights and a multiple hour hike…..I saw tonight that my God is bigger than fibromytosis on my other grandson….and I got this impression after seeing my mother in a hospital after having heart issues…..Tonight!!

It is just so amazing how God can reveal Himself.  A mother in the  hospital, a set of grandsons in turmoil and a healing, loving, soothing God to tell me that He has this in control. 

Perseverance maybe is not a load of fun…..but it must finish its work…..then….maturity….   Let it finish its work….so me and you can be mature.

louie

