Publix logo 2

The Publix Trademark.  I was at Publix this past weekend to stop by and get some stuff real quick.  An obvious street person walked up to me really quick as I got out of my vehicle.  She was disheveled, unkempt, unclean and was shaky from either drugs or alcohol.  I have dealt with literally hundreds of people like this over the years.  I have changed my attitude about this sort of person over the years also.  It is sad to admit that there have been times that I would ridicule a person like this…but not for a long time.  My buddy Mike Ellis has helped me learn how to minister to this segment of the world.

Exodus 20:15, the 8th Commandment says, “You shall not steal.”  There have been times that I have stolen the dignity of a person like this because of how I felt about them.  I have stolen the needs of a person like this  because I felt it was my right to decide, to judge on how they should spend whatever it was that the Lord was telling me to give them.  I have stolen and opportunity to share just the simple love of God through a kind word, a soft touch or a hug.

I gave this woman some money that I felt was what God wanted me to do…and knew she was going to buy drugs or alcohol.  I gave her a hug and felt the bones in her back and ribs…..prayed for her as she would allow me….then my daughter and I watched as she went to McDonalds and got lunch…not booze,  with what I had given her.  You shall not steal.  Had I disobeyed God in giving her something…I would have stolen her meal for that day.   I am glad I did not disobey this time.

Publix, where shopping is a pleasure.  louie

