flow-diagram

My Friday Musings…There is nothing like a mother….and I have a good one. 

My mother, Wanda Mercer, would teach me and tell me the first part of Psalm 1:1.  It says this:  “Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of the sinners or sit in the seat of the mockers.”

She would tell me about this and say to look at the process involved here.  A process of sin getting into our lives.…..Walking, standing and sitting.  She would teach me that if I walked in the direction or advice of the wicked…..that I would eventually stand or linger in the way of the sinners and then…I would eventually sit in the seat, or take residence or a place in the way of those that mocked the way of the Lord.  She told me that if I did this…I would not be blessed. 

My Pastor tells me that there is another process:  First we abhor, then we endure then we embrace.  Another sin process.

These three ways (actually 6 ways) are really how sin creeps into my life and how it has over the years.  I dabble in it, I linger in it..then I just enjoy it.  I hate it, I endure it,….then I just embrace it.

This Friday, before the weekend, I examine myself and my actions and compare them to what my mother’s words reflected in Psalm 1:1.

My mom is just a darn good mom.

louie

