green-eggs-and-ham1

Green eggs and ham, green eggs and ham, I do not like them Sam I am.  I do not like them here or there. I do not like them anywhere.  I do not like green eggs and ham, I do not like them Sam I am.  I have read this book to 4 children now.  In the end, that old Sam I Am, likes green eggs and ham. 

My buddy Mike did a blogon a men’s ministry.  I, like Mike, have struggled with men, men in ministry and mens ministries.  We hooked up with my brother Frank and did, what was really a pretty cool gig called Church For Men.  Yes, we got criticized for calling it a church and for calling it for men… but we wanted it to be what it was being called.  Because guys don’t like to be lied to.  We did it for a year or so.  Over 50 guys gave their lives to Jesus Christ.  But we burned out.  Hundred or so people there for meetings, live rock music, national speaking figures…..comedians, national exposure, food and a Saturday night service and in a gym…away from churchy stuff.   We wanted to make it exciting for men.  It was….and women came too….a few gave their lives to Jesus Christ also.

Now, I am back to green eggs and ham.

I do not like them, Sam I am.

Men, it just comes down to us.  We have to pray and really seek God in what and how each of us can get involved in our local church and make a difference.  It may be a small thing but get to know the men around you at work, in the neighborhood, in the gym, and yes in church.  Get engaged in something and begin to ask God what He would have you to do.  Women, if you have a husband……trust me from the heart….he needs encouragement.  Just tell him how much he means to you.  Single ladies….tell the men in church you appreciate them…..find something nice to say to one of them. 

I have to get back to my green eggs and ham. louie

