selfish2

So, my buddy Mike Ellis sends me this email a few weeks ago.  It is about marriage.  It is this post from Perry Ellis about 5 questions a husband should ask his wife.  Check out the post.   

Well, I read through the 5 things and I did what any good husband would do…… I thought they were cute then I deleted the email.  Ellis is always messing with me and surely this is a joke.  I have a good marriage.  I am a good guy.  I don’t need this mumbo jumbo.   Especially from Ellis….what up with him?   And who does Perry Ellis think he is anyway?

This Sunday afternoon when all the kids were out, alseep, gone….. I dug up the list..man oh man…the Holy Spirit was dealing with me…..so..I asked my wife the 5 questions.  Because, you see….I really do want to know.  I had a longing to really know……how she really felt.   Now, I did not used to want to know.  I just wanted my way.  And I would manipulate every thing in life, in work, in my family…to get my way.  God has just shaken me up, made me..less selfish and I have found that the more I give the more I receive. 

So, I asked her…and she was plenty able to answer the questions I asked.   She did not even have to think about them!!!

Looks like I have some work to do now….  25 years together is an accomplishment no doubt.  But I want 25 more.  So…I have some things to do…. like some imagination for  #2, then a little bit of work on #3,(this is the easy one) …..and some praying on #4….and….well,….some long term ideas on #5. 

The bible says in Mark 10 that husband and wife are one flesh.  I get what I want when I meet her needs.  I have to know her needs to meet them.  Once I meet them…. I get what I want.  It is easier being selfish, but I found that much of what she wanted…..I wanted.  Shazam.

louie

