Hammer on finger

I have always wondered why the third commandment, one of the top three, was about using the Lord’s name in vain. 

I had always understood that using the Lord’s name in vain was the G.D. word.  You know the one I mean.  The one that is used when you slam your finger with a hammer, jammed your toe on the corner of the bed in the middle of the night, the one where somebody cut you off in traffic.   The, “I can’t believe  you said that” words.  The stuff your older uncle said outside around the older men…..I seemed to always hear it when the old guys would talk about that G. D. whatever.

All my life I wondered why these 2 words….G. D., were so bad.  Well, they are not really cool, but it goes way beyond that.  Exodus 20:7 says that you should not misuse the name of the Lord your God, for the Lord will not hold anyone guiltless who misuses his  name. 

So, I began to wonder how I might “misuse” his name.  I checked out the literal meaning of the word, misuse or in vain and found that it means to rush over, to destruct, to desolate, to misuse or to not use as it should be.  Then I thought about how I am a Christian, a preacher, a teacher and then I compare that with how I live my life.  What I say, how I think, what I believe and then what I do about what I believe.  I sometimes get an ouch on this.  Because what I find out is that I sometimes do not say the things that I represent I believe, I do not always live the life that I represent. 

I always wondered why this was the 3rd Commandment.  It is easy not to sayG.D., but it is another thing to live my life so that I do not destroy the name of God in how I speak, how I act, how I portray myself to others.  Too bad it took me this long to figure out that G.D. ain’t the whole deal. 

louie

