400px-GSC_Sawnoff

When I was growing up as a young boy, I always heard about a 10 Gauge Shotgun.  As I was told, it would kick a grown man to the ground.  At about 10 years old, I shot a 12 gauge shotgun…man it kicked my shoulder so bad….I never wanted to even see a 10 gauge shotgun.  I did see a shell to one on one occasion….it was big, bad and intimidating. 

Ok, this is the last in a series on Ephesians 6:12 ish.  You can see the others at WWE, Flesh and Blood, Lions, Tigers and Bears, .. Oh My,  and the Whole Enchilada

Today, what you do about all of the struggle with Satan.  What you use to fight against Satan.  I say go to the big boy right away.  The 10 gauge shotgun.  Don’t play around.  I am going to glaze over them here…just touch on them…..want the real deal….come to TLC on June 21 at 10am for church. 

Paul lays out several things.  Ephesians 6:14 says fasten the belt of truth around your waist.  Jesus says that he is the way, the truth, the life.  Truth is that Jesus has “overcome the world”.  Truth is the person of Jesus.   The belt of truth stabilizes you. Holds your pants up.  It is a base.

Verse 14 also says, put on the breastplate of righteousness.  The breastplate is like the breastbone  that covers our heart.  Satan wants your heart.  You are the righteousness of Christ.  You are not righteous of your own doing, it is through Christ.  But  you are righteous. 

Verse 15 depicts the shoes of the gospel.  The literal meaning is that Satan is your,…yes your,…footstool.  That is what the shoes of the gospel mean.  Verse 16 says to take up the shield of faith.  This shield, scriptures say, quenches or stops the tricks of Satan.  Faith is the belief in things not seen…..just believe in your position; it is superior to Satans. 

Verse 17 is the helmet of salvation.  This is where most Christians stay.  They get to salvation and just stay there.  It is the doorway, the portal to the other weapons.  Want more on this.. see you the 21st or I will blog on it later.   V17 also says use the sword of the spirit.  A big offensive weapon like in Gladiator.  This is the word of God, the bible, the scriptures…. Hide them in your heart,…the breastplate will protect them….  The sword will cut up Satan because the word of God is truth, it is righteousness.   V19 says to pray in the Spirit on all occasions….I will just have to cover this one later… I am way over on my 300 word goal.

You see, I could go on and on here.  I am trying to not be too preachery on a blog for you guys that want to use this as a devotional.  I just could talk for hours on this.  I hope you have enjoyed Ephesians 6.

louie

