200236712-001

It has not rained here in any significant quantity in some time.  We, like much of the country, have been in a drought.  But it started raining today and rained all day long.  A slow soaking rain.  It was nice. 

In Matthew 5:45, Jesus says that God sends the rain on the just and the unjust.  Some versions say the righteous and unrighteous.  God is much better than me.  I have people in my neighborhood that are inconsiderate, I have people that I know in business that are ruthless, I know of people that are in leadership positions that have stepped on other people to get to where they are I have people at my work that constantly try to undermine me and defeat me.  If it were up to me and my disgust for these people, I would withhold the rain, the life giving, refreshing, thirst quenching power of the water. 

Then Jesus goes on to say in verse 46 to say, “if you love those who love you, what reward will you get?”  Answer: None.  Ouch.  But sometimes I don’t want a reward.  I want justice.  I want revenge.  I want to get even.  Doesn’t sound to churchy does it?  It is just the truth.  Jesus goes on to say in verse 48 to be perfect….to grow up !!!!!!   …..to strive for being like God, to not want your way, to allow good for evil, to allow rain on the unrighteous…… 

That is just not me….well,…deep down, it is not me.  It may be my Sunday face but it is not how I really feel sometimes.  When I saw the rain today outside my office, I thought about this scripture and how judgemental I can be, how matter of fact I can be, how ……..  well, unrighteous I can be… And God allowed it to rain on me today. 

louie

