I play golf one time a year.  That is when my wife at TLC Kids Care through our Church,….has a golf tournament.  It was this past Saturday.  50 or so guys played.   We had a great time.  One guy on our group of 4 did not show up so my daughter Courtney drove me around the course as we played. 

She drove too fast, started too quick, stopped too short, skidded the tires on the wet grass, went around the corners too sharp, (guess this is an indication of her starting to drive next year) ……but most of all……she did not adhere all the time to the cardinal rule of golf carting……….. Keep the Cart on the Cart Path.   

cart-path-only-sign

It is not like there are not signs.  Quite the contrary.  There are signs everywhere.!  The cart path, however, is narrow and restricting….whereas the large green grass in the fairways and on the greens are,….well,….. inviting, tempting, liberating…… 

So, I was critical at first until I began to think about my cart.  No, I don’t have a cart….I mean, Me,..my life, the places I go both physically and mentally.  The path my life is on.   I thought about the large green fairways I have traveled in my life or wanted to travel in my life, the grass I got on….the cart path that I left.  Matthew 7:14 says, “narrow is the gate and difficult is the way that leads to life and there are few that find it.” 

It is just plain hard to stay on the cart path sometimes.  I seem to want to get on the fairways like my daughter did, to speed up on the open spaces, to swerve back and forth, to go as fast as I think I want.  I don’t like the restrictions that the cart path has on my life….and there are plenty of signs too….  God wants us to have life abundantly….. but in order to do that, we have to stay on the cart path.  You had trouble with cart paths lately?  I have. 

louie

