cross2020flame

My dad has been the organist at the First United Methodist Church in Bunnell for all my life.  I am 50.  On some Saturday nights he would go to the church after supper and all the nighttime obligations were complete.  He would play the organ.  As a small child, anywhere from 4 to 12, I would go with him sometimes.  I would sit on the old wood pew, play, sit, listen to the songs he would play…..and I would finally fall to sleep….hearing the hymns he would play.  Now I am a contemporary music fan….that is what we play at our church….even some christian rock..but I still remember these songs my dad played.  Here is one.

I come to the garden alone
While the dew is still on the roses
And the voice I hear falling on my ear
The Son of God discloses.

Refrain

And He walks with me, and He talks with me,
And He tells me I am His own;
And the joy we share as we tarry there,
None other has ever known.

He speaks, and the sound of His voice,
Is so sweet the birds hush their singing,
And the melody that He gave to me
Within my heart is ringing.

Refrain

I’d stay in the garden with Him
Though the night around me be falling,
But He bids me go; through the voice of woe
His voice to me is calling.

I realize now that not only was my dad practicing for Sunday,..but more he was doing something he loved.  Playing and having time with the Lord.  He was spending time alone….well, I was there but I just sat there and listened,….captured by the sound of the large organ, the huge sanctuary…and being with my dad.  You see,  my earthly father was spending time with his heavenly father and that made him a better dad, husband, brother, friend, organist and just a better person.  And I was with my dad.  I still like being with him.

You see, we have to spend time with God to hear from him, to walk and talk with him.  We need to be in the garden with the Lord….while the dew is still on the roses…

louie

