open20mouth

I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of Egypt.  Open wide your mouth and I will fill it.  But my people would not listen to me;  Israel would not submit to me.  So I gave them over to their stubborn hearts to follow their own devices.  Psalm 81:10-12.

Open wide your mouth and I will fill it…..is what God said.  It can’t be that easy!  No way!  (2 exclamation points close together….get it?)  It seems just to simple.  I mean, we have to work really hard, make our plans on how we are going to do all this stuff for God.  Set up programs for this and for that,….make these business deals and those,….run over here and over there and just get all whipped up into a frenzy.  Then what we do is, after we have made all our plans and expended all our effort and get everything in place…..we ask  God to bless what we are doing.

No.  This scripture says that He is the one that brought us out of Egypt….out of captivity, out of slavery,…out of sin.  Just open wide your mouth and He will fill it.  Now, the first time I read this……I related it to food.  I think that is what the scripture,…in context here means….However……

I went to preach to a group of people the other night with very little advanced notice.  I got a last minute call from my buddy Mike Ellis. (He does this to me all the time….one more reason I love him….because he calls me.)   I was nervous and just before I went, me and 2 of my daughters just stood in the kitchen and prayed that God would fill my mouth….that the Holy Spirit would just jump in there and tell me what to say……so I went to the building and did just that.  No notes, no planning, no preparation….and I opened my mouth.

8 people gave their lives to Jesus Christ.  4 or 5 others made re-dedications.  Some of them were church workers and youth that night  there to serve others,….others were adults.  I was floored…..and then just realized that I just opened up my mouth……..He filled it.

God is one bad mamma jamma.  louie @ lmercer6@cfl.rr.com

