medough

Play dough is fun.  I remember when I was a child, I would play with it all the time.  My mom was a teacher and she always had neat stuff for us to play with.  Play dough was one of those things.  My wife is also a teacher and runs the pre-school at our church..TLC Kids Care.  She also has play dough.  She also has all these little molds that the kids put the play dough into and these molds make shapes and figures that the kids make into many different things.  Then, when playtime is over, the play dough is put back into the round container to be made into something else tomorrow.

Jeremiah 18: 1-6 tells a story alot about our lives in relation to God.  Sort of playdough lives.  The verses say this, “This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the Lord:  Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.  So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel,  but the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him.  Then the word of the Lord came to me: O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter does?  declares the Lord.  Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, O  house of Israel.”

Like children form the play dough into whatever they want to, …so does God try to form our lives into what He wants us to be.  Play dough and clay are formed and reformed…based on the child…or the potter.  As we travel through life, God’s desire is to shape us more and more into His image.  He wants to shape us one day,….put us safely away….reform us as we conform to His image,..shape us some more.  Kids love play dough,..I did.  God wants us to have play dough lives….formable, bendable,….workable.  Like kids love playdough so does God love us.

louie @ lmercer6@cfl.rr.com

