cowboy-hat

OK..I have a couple of cowboy hats.  Now, I am not a cowboy…..well, not really, but I have some cowboy hats.  One is a work cowboy hat that I wear when I go help my buddy Deen Wall at Charles Cowart’s cow pen.  I do that a couple times a year if I can get away.  It is really hard work but awesome.  Well, my son, Tyler sees me with that hat…..and he wants to be like dad.

In John 5 verses 17, 19, Jesus is says this.  “My Father is always at his work to this very day, and I, too am working.  I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what  he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does, the Son also does.”

Jesus only did what he saw the Father do.  So, if Jesus did it, well, the Father did it.  Only. Nothing else. That is it…The Father did it.  So, what Jesus did opens up a light into what God did and does. 

My son wants to be like me.  As every day goes by, this is a humbling experience.  I have to keep my behaviors in check, my talk in check, my actions in check, my attitudes in check, ……. who I am in check.  My son wants to be like me…..so I went to Skips Boots in Daytona and bought him a cowboy hat.  He wore it in church today.  When I saw him, I thought about Jesus the son and God the Father.  I smiled. 

I can not find in scripture where Jesus wore a cowboy hat…..but I guess God built a mean dresser.

louie @ lmercer6@cfl.rr.com

