A country song….but the premise of this is in the bible…  Do you ever feel like this in your life?  I mean, you get one step forward then get one step back?   There were years in my life when I wondered what was going on.  I wondered why it seemed like I got going forward that I seemed to slip backward.   Well, the prophet Jeremiah talks about one step forward, two steps back. 

Jeremiah was a prophet that told it like it was.  In Jeremiah 7:23-24 said this, “but I gave them this command.  Obey me and I will be your God and you will be my people.  Walk in all the ways I command you , that it may go well  with you.  But they did not listen or pay attention; instead, they followed the stubborn inclinations of their evil hearts.  They went backward and not forward.”

Spinning your wheels?  Not making any progress?  Worse yet, you backing up?  Do  now, what the prophet Jeremiah said, ….Obey me and it will go well with you.  If it is not going well, it may be that you are not obeying the voice of the Lord.  I want to help you understand what that is.  Jesus said to come to me all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Obey God today in  your work, your marriage, your family, your church.  Give it a try.

Just try it in one, just one area of your life.  Satan would tell you that you are too messed up to please God, you are too weak in all areas to get going in a different direction.  I would tell you that this is a lie.  Just try one little area to surrender to God today.  You wait and see…..it will produce benefits…the bible says so. 

Pastor Louie

