Deen Wall is a neat person.  He has a Master’s Degree in sports medicine or exercise stuff, something like that.  (Just because I do not know what it specifically is, does not diminish his achievements, and they are many.)  Anyway, he is a friend of mine.  However, I know him more for his abilities with training animals.  Horses and dogs.  He is one of the best.  I have been invited several times with him and my friend Chuck to work cows.  Sounds funny and maybe you turn up your nose at this sort of thing……until you eat a steak, hamburger or fillet.  Then it ain’t so bad is it?

They put me in the pen because I have no real skills on a horse, don’t know cows too much but I like being around the sort of folks that built this country and I love the outdoors, I really like my buddies.  So I do the grunt work.  One of the things they do is work the cows.  That means that they give medicine for better health, treat against parasites, some are …..castrated….(just remember fillets) and then they are let back out.  These cows are sent down a chute to be “worked.”  It is called a squeeze shoot because they are squeezed or held, while worked…..And, with out this, the cows would not be in good health and in fact would be in danger of sickness and disease. 

That  reminds me of what Jesus said in Matthew 7:13-14, when he said, “Enter through the narrow gate.  For wide is the gate and broad is the way to destruction, and many enter through it.  But small is the gate ad narrow is the way that leads to life, and only a few find it.”  While working cows, the cows have no choice…they have to enter into the chute.  God gave us a choice and Jesus, himself, is saying to enter through the narrow gate.  Sometimes that gate looks pretty ominous. 

Enter the narrow gate.  The broad gate leads to destruction.  Who would have ever thought that workin’ cows was connected to Jesus?  Willfully enter this gate….Jesus is there to work you……and you ain’t fillet.

Pastor Louie

