Everybody has a Rocky Hunter.  He was a great guy that was on a motorcycle last night with his wife and a car pulled out in front of him.  It killed him and his wife.  He was just over 50.  Everybody has a Rocky.  He was a handsome guy.  Big. Strong. Funny. Hard working. Family man. Had children.  You know him.  His name might not  be Rocky (Otis Stone  Hunter was his name).  He was always Rocky to me.  His name may be some other name to you.  I went on my first double date with him and Janelle.  He taught me how to lift weights.  Got me to the 300 mark on a bench.  He was a perennial buddy.  He is dead now.  Killed riding enjoying the ride.

Who is yours?  You better give them a call.  I was just stunned today when a person at my job told me about it.  Rocky’s son is in a paramedic student in a program that I manage.  They found out…the son said to the teachers that his dad was my buddy….that they better tell me…….he was my buddy!  The teachers told me.  I was numb.  I began to think about what James says in James 4:13-14, “Now listen, you who say, today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business, and make money.  Why you do not even know what will  happen tomorrow.  What is your life?  You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.”

A mist.  Rock Hunter 2008.  Me and you………………..

Pastor Louie

