Jesus taught more on the Kingdom of Heaven than anything else.  It was why He came, to show us the Kingdom.  He showed us, in what we call the Lord’s Prayer, that we should pray for the Kingdom to come and God’s will be done……..on earth like it is in heaven.  So, what does that mean?  What is the Kingdom?  What part do we play in this Kingdom?  I will touch on The Kingdom here and more to come a little at a time so that me and you can maybe better understand it.  I want it for me as much as for you.

 

Matthew 6:10 says, “Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.” (KJV).  It is clear that Jesus is teaching us how to pray.  He wants us to pray that God’s Kingdom would come and His will be done on earth….just like it is in heaven.  God’s will is obviously done in heaven, but what about on earth?  When I look around, when I see what is going on, it just does not seem that God’s will is being done here on earth.  (I don’t want to get into a debate here on God’s sovereign will vs. His permissive will).  But it just does not seem like God’s will is being done now.  I wonder if God’ will was being done during the time of Jesus?  I wonder this because if Jesus is praying and teaching us to pray that God’s will would be done, back then, on earth, like it is in heaven, then it must not have been being done then either.  Go figure.  The did not like what Jesus was saying then either…so they put him to death…but did not silence him. 

 

So, Jesus wants God’s will to be done on earth like it is in heaven.  In Matthew 22:37-40 Jesus says, “the greatest commandment is that you love the Lord your God with all of your heart, soul, and mind.  This is the first and great commandment.  And the second is like unto it, that you should love your neighbor as yourself.  On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.”  Love God with all you have.  Give God your best.  Love your neighbor as much as you love yourself.  Tough gig huh?  It is for me.  But I am trying…every day to love God more and more and more and to give myself more to Him.  Now, I have some problems with my neighbors….literally and spiritually.  I am working on that too.  So, first up in this Kingdom of God……Thy Kingdom Come….is loving God with all you have.  Pretty big bill.  But understand this.  God loves you unconditionally, no matter what.  Love Him back, more and more and you will be on the road to having His Kingdom Come..on earth.

 

Pastor Louie 

 

