Wow.  I saw this in the paper this morning and thought about how much of that was my retirement money.  I know I am far from retirement.  Shoot, I have a 3 year old child and three above that.  So, I have a long way to go, but 3 Trillion.  That is a lot of zeros.  The bible talks a lot about investments and financing.  I will hit on this a lot coming up because Jesus taught a lot about it.  He taught about this second only to the Kindgom of Heaven.  I will hit a lot on that too.  But what about this loss in the Dow Jones Industrials, the Mutual Funds, the Money Market Funds,…….seems like doom and gloom.  It is!

Here is what the Bible says about this sort of thing.  Jesus said it in Matthew 6 in verses 19-21. “Don’t hoard treasure down here where it gets eaten by moths and corroded by rust or worse! – stolen by burglars.  Stockpile treasure in heaven, where it’s safe from moth and rust and burglars.  It’s obvious, isn’t it?  The place where your treasure is, is the place you will most want to be, and end up being. ”  Now, Jesus is not saying not to invest.  He is talking about the heart of investment, what you are investing in………because that is where your heart will be. 

It is ok to invest.  Absolutely.  But to put all of your faith in investments, to put all of  your belief in your investments, to hoard more and more physical things and to just revel in your wealth, your accomplishments, your house, your car, your portfolio, your future lifestyle is foolish.  The Dow dropped a record 700 points in one day.  Wealth was lost overnight.  Yes it made me sick to think about it but then I began to think about my substance coming from God.  I began to think about the blessings I have in my family, my faith and my friends.  Hebrews 13:5b says this that we should be, “content with such things as we have, for He has said, I will never leave you or forsake you.”

If you are not content with what you have, if you struggle, like I do, with how to figure this all out, I would say that you may want to look away from treasures here on earth and start the mindset of looking to store up treasures in heaven.  What does that mean and how can you do that…….?  First, spend some time each day with God.  Read His word.  Talk to Him.  Listen to Him.  Focus on Him.  Start it today.  Just 10 minutes and it can change your perspective.  Give it a try today. 

Pastor Louie

 

