Strange title, On Prayer…1 but there is so much on prayer that to put it all in one place would be impossible.  So here is what I thought I would do.  Just do some shorts on prayer so that you can use them right away.  So this will be the first one on prayer…1.

I used to think that prayer had to be formal, private, all alone, maybe even silent, in church or in a room somewhere, with a specific format, that it had to be long and very respectful and I even thought that it had to be just at a specific time, like early in the morning or just before bed.  So, I modeled my prayer life after that…and guess what…I did not get much in the way of results. 

Then I got a revelation about Jesus praying.  Not the Lords Prayer, but we can cover that later, but about Jesus and his friend Lazarus.  It is listed in John 11.  Check it out.  Jesus had this friend Lazarus who died.  The people closest to Jesus wanted Jesus to come and raise Lazarus from the dead.  Jesus came 4 days later.  Everyone was depressed but Jesus stood outside the tomb of his dead friend.  Jesus then just talked to His father, God, about Lazarus.  (this would be a prayer…he talked to his father)  Jesus said, “Father, I thank you that you have heard me.  I know you hear me always, but I have said this so that those standing by that they may believe that you sent me”.

Jesus was outside of a tomb.  He was in a graveyard.  People were around and Jesus just talked to God.  Look, all we have to do is to talk to God.  Just talk to Him when you are driving around, when you are walking to a meeting that may be a problem, when you are going into the doctor’s office, when you are working in the yard.  God wants to have a relationship with you and not just one time a day, not just in church, not just in some prayer closet…..all of these are ok, but just start talking to God.  He wants to hear from you.  Try it at a cemetary,…like Jesus.  Look at the results he got!  They can be yours too.  If you need something in your life raised from the dead, a marriage, a relationship with your children, your finances, your health, a boss, a brother or sister fight, a relationship with your parents….pray, right now.  God is waiting for you and me. 

 

Pastor Louie

